CSR

Message from Chairman

From Social Responsibility to Corporate Value Creation
- Chairman Yang Ching-Hon

Money making is the only social responsibility of businesses! This statement used to be commonly accepted truth in the old times, but having entered the 21st century, corporate social responsibility has presented a new look. In one way, enterprises have to create economic value and help shareholders and investors make profits; in the other, enterprises must create social value, not only to pay taxes required by law and endeavor for environmental protection, but also safeguard labor rights and actively participate in various philanthropic works in the society. In addition, each employee should have full knowledge, participate, and agree that corporate profit making is just as important as social care.

Business growth is a means to the pursuit of happiness

As a business operator, taking good care of the staff’s livelihood is the most basic obligation. For employees, the purpose of working is to have money to eat, support family, and lead a good life. Why else should people work? So, treating staff well is necessary for business survival. Employee welfare cannot be taken for granted; it is a commitment we must keep for it is perfectly justified.

Therefore, in the company’s CSR implementation process, I hope to start from reforming our traditional thinking. Can the company supervisors not pay more attention to whether or not the employees are having a good life instead of telling them all day to do a good job at work? Whether or not work is done properly is dependent on the company’s system design. I believe that if we treat a child kindly and with a lot of love and care, the child would eventually be as if he or she were our own. As long as there is love and care, the company management will form a culture of love and mutual trust under good faith. The company’s belief in the truth, goodness, and beauty, to such foundation, can in turn contribute to the creation of new value. I believe that only companies with value and dreams can be respected and recognized by employees, thus a greater sense of participation and trust, and even a sense of honor. With such a corporate culture, new corporate management ideas can continue to be brought up, thereby reducing staff turnover and improving the overall production efficiency.

The CSR Incorporated into the Company DNA

With the gradual internalization of the company overwhelmed by the wave of globalization, how the company fulfills its “corporate social responsibility” shall remain an issue to ponder. Currently, the major international investment institutions require stock listed companies to provide reports on corporate management, environmental protection, and social responsibility as well as assessments of corporate social responsibility performance, which shall serve as a reference for investment. For example, the United States Securities companies Goldman Sachs and Morgan Stanley have already incorporated social responsibility into their corporate assessment standards. Large international firms have also demanded suppliers to comply with the CSR standards. In other words, the larger the enterprise, the greater the responsibility. The CSR implementation performance will be crucial for global enterprise layout in the 21st century.

In the past, in the territory of globalization and supply chain, we generally played the passive role of the producer to meet the buyers’ requirements and dominate the transnational services in the global markets. However, with ht evolution of globalization, Tainan Enterprises also became increasingly transnational. Relatively, we are also burdened with greater expectations and higher inspection standards from the international community compared to other Taiwanese enterprises. Therefore, in the field of sustainable development, how to make our business philosophy more forward looking in line with or in synchrony with the international standards so that we can compete with our competitors in Europe, the United States, Japan, and Korea shall remain the greatest challenge in the future. Therefore, we have set up social responsibility departments in our overseas branches one after another. Meanwhile, the foundation was established in 2001. For a long time, we have bet a lot of effort in four areas: arts and culture, community care, ecological conservation, and cultivation of human resources.
In the face of global competition, we have to have an open mind to learn to become a forward-looking multinational company, map out a sound business strategy to win a long-term competitive advantage over others. Only when Tainan Enterprises truly sees people, environment, and the value and dignity of all things can it voice for the promotion of sustainable development on the international stage. In addition to creating profits, we must more clearly answer: is the existence of the company is beneficial for community?  Has improvement been made on the environment? In the process of wealth creation, have immoral or unethical things been done? In the CSR implementation process, have we changed from “profit-oriented” into “public-oriented?” Has the CSR been fully integrated into the company’s corporate culture? As a leading enterprise in line with the world, we must constantly reflect on ourselves and be persistent.

Enterprises cannot detach from the soil of society

The community is the land and enterprises are trees. Enterprises absorb nutrients from human resources and markets. When leaves and fruits fall to the ground, the land becomes nourished once again and more forests will grow from it. People have long believed that participation in welfare is only a good deed of the leaders that there may not be substantial feedback. However, more and more researches show that an enterprise’s fulfillment of social responsibility is like planting a seed that will eventually feedback to the enterprise. Compared to advanced countries in Europe and the Untied States, our implementation of social responsibility is still in a primary stage. I believe that through long-term involvement, we will find the social value of the company existence, and gradually our brand value will virtually be developed. Therefore, I would like to encourage everyone to adhere to the “three good practices,” namely, conscientiousness (the noble character of honesty) and intuitive knowledge to know right or wrong (new knowledge in pace of the world) in the implementation of the selfless social feedback plan, supplemented by the intuitive ability (full implementation) so that the CSR can be based on the business ethics, and we can wholeheartedly contribute to the local community and environment. I also earnestly hope that everyone at Tainan Enterprises, regardless of rank, takes part in corporate social responsibility. I keep in mind every day that we will not only be a profitable company, but also be a respectable one. This is the breadth of mind that every Taiwanese enterprise should have.

企業社會責任CSR-Staff Corner

董事長的話

 從社會企業責任到價值創造

「賺錢是企業唯一的社會責任!」這樣的說法,在以前的時代似乎是大家公認的真理。然而進入二十一世紀,企業社會責任已呈現新的面貌。企業一方面要創造經濟價值,為股東和投資人賺取利潤;另一方面,企業更需要創造社會價值,不僅是依法納稅與做好環保,更要維護勞工權益,積極的參與社會各項慈善公益,而且要讓每一位員工充分認知與參與,認同公司賺錢和關懷社會是同等重要的事。

企業成長是追求幸福的手段

做一個企業的經營者,照顧好員工的生活,這是最基本的義務。對於員工來說,工作的目的就是要有錢,要吃飯,要能養家活口,要過好的生活,不然為什麼要工作?所以對員工好,就像是人要呼吸一樣,是企業生存的必然。不能視為是對員工的福利,而是我們天經地義必須信守的承諾。

因此,在公司落實CSR的過程中,我希望,先從我們傳統的思維改革做起。公司的主管們,能多關注員工怎麼過好的生活?而不是整天跟他講怎麼把工作做好;工作做得好不好,這些都是公司制度設計的問題。我相信別人的孩子只要好好疼,最後就會像自己親生的小孩一樣。只要有疼惜的心,公司的治理,才能在真誠的關懷下,形成一種愛與互信的文化。公司的信念---求真、求善、求美,才能在這樣的基礎下,創造出新價值來。我相信,一個有價值、有夢想的企業,才能爭取員工對於公司的尊重與認同, 才會有更高的參與感與信任感,甚至有一份榮譽感,有這樣的企業文化,自然能不斷帶動新的企業經營理念,降低人事的流動率,整體提升生產效率。

將CSR融入公司的DNA

隨著公司逐步的國際化,迎接全球化的浪潮,如何善盡我們公司的「企業社會責任」是我們必須不斷省思的。目前重要的國際投資機構對上市的企業,要求提供企業治理、環保和社會責任的政策報告,以及企業社會責任績效評等,做為投資的參考依據。例如美國高盛和摩根 士丹利證券,已將企業社會責任納入評價企業的標準。國際大型企業也紛紛要求供應商必須符合CSR標準。也就是說,企業越大,責任越大,CSR的執行績效,將是21世紀企業全球佈局的通行證。

過去,在全球化的版圖與供應鏈中,我們大都是被動性的生產者角色,配合著買主的要求,主宰著全球市場的跨國公司服務。不過隨著全球化的演變,台南企業也逐漸跨國化,相對的我們也承擔著國際社會對台灣企業更高的期望與檢視標準。因此在永續發展領域,如何讓我 們的經營理念與作為更具前瞻性,與國際接軌甚或同步,並能與歐美日韓的競爭對手一較長短,更是我們未來最大的挑戰。因此,我們在海外各廠,陸續成立社會責任部,同時在2001年也成立了基金會,長期以來,在藝術文化、社區關懷、生態保育和培育人才等四大類的公益活動上,投注了許多心力。

面對全球化的競爭,我們得虛心學習成為一家前瞻性的跨國公司,擘劃穩健的經營策略,以贏得長期的競爭優勢。當我們的經營看得見人、環境、萬物的價值與尊嚴,也意味著台南企業已能在國際的舞臺上.推動地球的永續發展而發聲。除了獲利之外,我們必須更要明確的 回答:公司的存在是否對社區有利?我們是否改善了環境?在創造財富的過程中,是否做了有悖道德的事?是否心存善念?在落實CSR的過程中,我們是否從單純的「獲利導向」,轉向「公益導向」,並徹底將CSR融入公司的企業文化?作為一家與國際同步的領先企業,我們必須時時反省,更需要擇善固執。

企業離不開社會的土壤

社會是土地,企業是樹,企業從社會吸收人才與市場的養分。葉子與果實落到地面,再度滋養土地,長出更多的森林,企業離不開社會這個土壤。企業與社會就是這樣生生不息的生態循環。長久以來,很多人一直認為企業從事公益活動,只是領導人的善行,不見得會有實質 回饋。但愈來愈多研究顯示,企業善盡社會責任,就像播種,終究會回饋給企業的。比起歐美等先進國家,我們落實企業社會責任的作為仍處於學步階段,我相信,隨著長期的投入參與,我們就越會發現,我們企業存在的社會價值,無形中也逐漸發展成我們的品牌價值。因此 ,我要勉勵大家,一起來推動「三良修煉」,也就是以「良心 ( 誠實不欺的高尚品德 ) 」、「良知 ( 符合世界脈動的新知識 ) 」落實無私的社會回饋計劃,輔以「良能 ( 貫徹執行 ) 」,讓CSR建立在我們的企業品德上,對在地社區和環境真心的付出。我也多麼盼望:所有 台南企業的每一份子,不管職位高低,面對企業社會責任時,個個都是參與者。身為企業公民,我們能做的事太多了,只要投入,就是一個開始,就有機會引出更正面的循環。我們每天念茲在茲的,不僅是要成為賺錢的企業,更要成為讓人尊敬的企業,這應該是每個台企人該有的胸襟!


文/台南企業董事長楊青峯