CSR

CSR Review

Tainan Enterprises’ Road to Corporate Social Responsibility

With the increasing popularity of corporate social responsibility, more and more customers attach importance to factories’ performance in human rights, industrial safety, female worker solicitude and environmental protection. In 2004, Tainan Enterprises integrated the related resources and formally established the Corporate Social Responsibility Department to enhance the social compliance performance of its factories and meet the customers’ expectations for all aspects of corporate social responsibility.

Tainan Enterprises is a firm that recognizes and reflects the corporate social responsibility. In 1993, the first Taiwanese overseas plant was set up near the capital Jakarta, Indonesia. Later on, plants were set up one after another in China, Indonesia, Cambodia, etc. Over the years, Tainan Enterprises has regarded its employees around the world as members of the big family. All the employees observe the same code of conduct, including the prohibition of any form of discrimination such as religion, race, nationality, gender, etc., the prohibition of forced labor and child labor, the provision of staff salary benefits and overtime pay, working hours by law, provision of safe and hygienic work environments and fair treatment. After more than a decade of working together, employees are now all like family even though they have different political, cultural, educational, and economic backgrounds. More than 90% of the managers in some regions are the locals and many Taiwanese cadres can communicate with other employees in the local language. The plant in Indonesia holds employee activities every year, such as sport events, outings, parties, and so on. In addition, the plant in Indonesia has been running "HER" project since 2013, which provides training courses with subjects of about Health and Finance. As for the environmental protection project, the plant donates a double amount of the earning coming from the recycled bottles sold to the orphanage and visits local orphans with health knowledge provided. The plant located in the less-developed Cambodia has also spared no effort to help the local community over the years, such as the long-term funding of kindergartens and primary schools nearby, the construction of school buildings, gates, and fences, helping children to buy supplies, assist the community in paving roads and installing streetlights. In 2010, the foundation was established locally to provide scholarships for Cambodian employees’ children and the local Chinese schools. For female worker solicitude, the plant in Cambodia has been implementing "P.A.C.E." program, which provides up to 8 learning modules with methdologies used to increase local emplyees' knowledge, contribute to their personal growth and change the trajectory of their lives. In terms of environmental protection, in order to save energy, reduce carbon emissions, and protect the earth, the Cambodia plant helped replace more than ten thousand streetlights, while the China’s plant conversion devices were operated through steam energy in place of coal.

For decades, the company actively engaged in operation and management in Taiwan. In 2010, the Tainan plant donated machinery and equipment to Tzu Chi Great Love Village and assigned special personnel to teach the villagers to make clothes. In 2001, Tainan Enterprises Culture and Arts Foundation was established to actively and constantly participate in education, culture, environmental protection, and social assistance, such as university apparel related departmental activities and graduation exhibitions in order to nurture fashion talents. Originated and prospered in Tainan, Tainan Enterprises holds special sentiments for this land. Thus, by means of project execution, the company has long engaged in the preservation of the natural ecologies and cultural assets in Tainan. In 2003, it first adopted Barclay Memorial Park, Tainan, subsequently adopted Lakeside Water Bird Park, from which extended events such as waterfront cycling, Yanshuei River cleanup, and so on were held. It also actively participated in the preservation of the history and culture of Tainan, such as activities in the Old Street and old buildings such as Pepper Tube, Century Church, and Old House Xin Li.

Corporate social responsibility is multi-dimensional and can be expressed in many ways, but the most fundamental and important of which is to respect business ethics and earn profits in a legitimate way, rather than the superficial window dressing. Founded in 1961, Tainan Enterprises upholds the Founding Chairman Mr. Yang Kun-Mao’s faith-based philosophy that despite the two plant fires in 1984 and 1985 no employee’s pay was delayed based on the company’s commitment for the employees and customers, and work was resumed shortly after. Since the public listing in 2000, Tainan Enterprises has constantly worked on its finances and business ethics despite the world’s economic turmoil. The company relentlessly strives to maintain good business performance and profitability and values its integrity and reputation, as a fulfillment of its responsibility for the employees and shareholders, as well as the customer and consumers. On top of that, it is also the responsibility for empowering social and economic stability.

What kind of social responsibility does an enterprise shoulder? Just as Tainan Enterprises’ over 50 years of history, it believes in and has made come true the consistent belief of “truth, goodness, and beauty”

企業社會責任CSR-Staff Corner

CSR概況

 台南企業的社會企業責任之路  

社會企業責任(Corporate Social Responsibility)日益普及,客戶也越發重視工廠在人權、工安、女性員工關懷及環境保護的表現,台南企業於2004年整合相關資源,正式成立社會企業責任部,提升工廠在社會規範(Social Compliance)的表現,以符合客戶對社會企業責任各方面的期待。 

台南企業是一個認同並體現社會企業責任的企業,自1993年在印尼首都雅加達附近,成立第一個海外廠,之後陸續在大陸、印尼、柬埔寨等國家設廠,多年來台南企業將世界各地的員工,視為一個大家庭,遵循同樣的員工行為準則(Code of Conduct),包括禁止任何形式的歧視,如宗教、種族、國籍、性別等、禁止強迫勞動、禁用童工、提供員工薪資福利及加班薪酬、依法制定工時、提供員工安全、衛生的工作環境、及公平的對待。各國員工在不同的政治、文化、教育、經濟背景下,經歷了一段磨合期,經過十多年來的深耕,現今各國員工都像一家人般,有些地區的管理階層,已達90%以上是來自當地,很多台籍幹部已經可以以當地的語言與員工溝通,像印尼廠每年舉辦各項員工活動,如運動會、郊遊、晚會等等。除此之外,並自2013年起進行女性勞工關懷計劃(HER),教導健康及個人財務管理等知識及應用,在環境保護計劃中也將資源回收所得加倍捐助當地孤兒院,並固定探訪且傳授院童健康的知識。而位於較落後的柬埔寨廠,工廠多年來幫助當地社區,不遺餘力,如長期資助附近的幼稚園及小學,修築校舍、大門及圍牆,幫小朋友買用品,幫助社區鋪馬路、設路燈等等,並於2010年在當地成立基金會,提供獎助學金,給柬籍員工的子女及當地中文學校。在員工關懷部分,進行P.A.C.E.專案,提供整套的學習計畫滿足在地員工工作及生活各方面的知識需求。在環保方面,為節能減碳保護地球,柬埔寨廠更換全廠一萬多盞LED燈,而大陸廠改建設備以蒸氣能源取代燒媒。 

而在台灣這塊土地,數十年來,更是積極努力的深耕及經營,2010年台南廠捐助機器設備與慈濟大愛村,並派員教授村民製衣課程,公司於2001年成立台南企業文化藝術基金會,積極持續地參與包括教育、文化、環保及社會救助,如贊助各大學服裝相關科系活動、畢業展,以培育服裝人才,因緣於台南發跡而對台南這塊土地的一份特別的情感,以專案執行的方式,長期投入台南的自然生態與文化資產的保存,從2003年認養台南巴克禮公園,後認養安平湖濱水鳥公園,並延伸出其他如水岸單車、鹽水溪口淨灘等活動,及積極參與台南歷史文化的保存,老街與老建築包括胡椒管、百年教堂、老屋欣力等活動。 

社會企業責任有很多面向及表現方式,但是最基本最重要的,是以尊重商業道德的方法賺取正當利潤,不能只流於表面的粉飾;台南企業自1961年成立,在老董事長楊崑茂先生以誠信為本的經營理念下,1984及1985年經歷兩次廠房大火,基於對員工及客戶的承諾,沒有延遲一天員工的薪資,迅速復工;而今日台南企業自2000年公開上市以來,不論世界經濟動盪,在財務上及商業倫理上一直孜孜不倦,不懈於維持良好的業績及獲利,更珍視我們的誠信及商譽,這是對員工及股東的責任,也是對客戶及消費者的責任,更是對社會及經濟安定的力量的一份責任。 

企業對社會究竟肩負著什麼樣的責任?如同台南企業50多年來的歷程,相信且實現「真善美」的信念,始終如一。